Join Mc.DifferentCraft.Net Copy IP

Click to Copy

? Players Online

I think we need a new map

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Garblegox, Oct 5, 2018.

?

Is it time for a fresh map?

1. Yes

83.3%
  2. No

16.7%
  1. Garblegox

Garblegox New Member

Yeah I know, we've all been assured that that'll never happen. That used to come as a relief to me. Now I think we're shooting ourselves in the foot.

I've been playing Minecraft since 2010. If there's one absolute rule I've learned about this game, it's that nothing lasts forever. You get inspired; You start something new; You show it off to your friends, and get some screenshots; You learn some new skills in the process; You get inspired again, and you move on. It's all high hopes, and bittersweet memories. Rinse & repeat.

"The map will never change" is an excellent way to reassure players looking to invest a lot of their time into a project. But we should have never made that promise. Nobody playing on Minecraft is entitled to that, particularly if that promise threatens the server itself.

Think of the major types of new players: There are those who are new to the game itself, those returning from a long hiatus, and those switching straight from their old server to ours. The first two types of players are specifically on the lookout for new features. They've certainly heard a lot about them.

But they show up like "Ooow pretty map... Where are all the Llamas, reefs, dolphins, shipwrecks, parrots, mansions, Polar Bears, etc, etc, etc...?" Our answer? "Oh don't worry about it. You can get all of those in the mining world. Which resets routinely, so don't build a home there."