Join Mc.DifferentCraft.Net Copy IP

Click to Copy

? Players Online

The Church of the Holy Sword

Discussion in 'Share your builds' started by LAKster, Jun 4, 2019.

1. LAKster

LAKster New Member

Hey everybody,

So I'm fairly new to this particular server, but used to be quite an avid builder for one that went down about five years ago. Having joined Differentcraft about two weeks ago now I started work on a bit of a callback to the type of stuff I used to build. During all this I ended up taking a lot of screenshots. I'll add to this thread as the build progresses

For now though; this is what has been build so far

It all started with the planning and building of the stained glass window in the back. This was about two evenings of pixel art and one for building. In turn the walls (each took 2 hours to build, a few more to gather stone) and roof (gather clay to make terracotta was a pain, took a few days) were build to fit the stained glass not the other way around.
    [​IMG]

Next up was the detailing of the front of the church. This consisted of a few parts
    Instead of chronological order I'll run through them top to bottom

The top of the church features a rain drop motif (or at least that is what I like to call it) just under the yellow roof as a lining, this is often seen on real churches (do note the side pillars are still W.I.P)
    and it features two small statues, each is made out of quarts which is a pain to mine. The left one is suppose to be a saint type character who would have fallen off in to legend within the church itself and would have been rumoured to be a great mage (of course none of that was true) and the one on the right was yet another saint, however this one started off as just a nomad, but to his rumours there might have been more truth. Both these saints are place high on the building because of their saintly status, this brings them closer to the sun and thus the heavens of the common church religion.
    [​IMG]